PhD in Biomedical Sciences of University of Chile Faculty of Medicine was created in 1989 to promote the formation of independent and highly qualified researchers in the biomedical area. This program is based on the recognition that modern medicine depends directly on the advancement of knowledge in core disciplines such as Human Genetics, Cellular and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Virology, Physiology, Pharmacology and Human Reproduction, among others. All these disciplines are backed lines of research laboratories and highly qualified researchers.

Who can apply: Chileans or foreigners with a degree of Bachelor or Master related to the area of ​​Biomedical Sciences. Selection is made on the basis of the candidate’s academic background and an entrance exam. This is evaluated by a Review Committee composed of the members of the doctoral committee plus other specially invited academics. The selection standards are high.

Program Management

This work is the responsibility of the Graduate School of the Faculty of Medicine through the Program Coordinating Committee Degrees (CCPGA). The CCPGA is advised by an Academic Committee of the PhD in Biomedical Sciences regulating the activities of the program.

Academic Committee of the PhD in Biomedical Sciences

President

Julio Tapia Pineda
jtapia@med.uchile.cl

Professors Members

Pedro Maldonado Arbogast
pedro@neuro.med.uchile.cl

Miguel Concha Nordeman
mconcha@med.uchile.cl

Andrés Couve Correa
andres@neuro.med.uchile.cl

Enrique Jaimovich Pérez
ejaimovi@med.uchile.cl

Lisette Leyton Campos
lleyton@med.uchile.cl

Lilian Jara Sosa
ljara@med.uchile.cl

Claudio Hetz Flores
chetz@med.uchile.cl

Marcela Hermoso Ramello
mhermoso@med.uchile.cl

Luis Michea Acevedo
lmichea@med.uchile.cl